How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account

by Himanshu Yadav on February 4, 2011

Don’t want to spend time on Facebook? You can deactivate your Facebook account temporarily. After deactivation, none of your Facebook friend can able to see your profile, pictures, videos, or status updates. Also no one can send you a message or write on your wall.

You can activate your account anytime you want. Remember deactivation doesn’t mean deletion of your account. All your Facebook data will remain saved and you can get it back anytime you want. Here’s a step by step guide to deactivate and then reactivate your Facebook account.

1. Click on Account. Go to Account Settings.


2. Under settings tab, you’ll find a “Deactivate account” option. Click the “deactivate” link given next to it.


Facebook will ask you reason to deactivating your Facebook account. Select any of the appropriate reason. You can explain further by typing the exact reason in the given box. Click on the “Confirm” button to confirm the deactivation.


It will ask you to enter your password. Enter a password in the given box and click the “Confirm” button.


Now enter the words in the text box and click “Submit” button.


That’s it. Your account is deactivated.

How to reactivate your Facebook account

It’s easy. All you need to do is login to Facebook with your login credentials. Your account will be activated. However, it will take some time to restore your groups, events, notes and other content.


That’s how you can deactivate and reactivate your Facebook account. Wait for our next tutorial to know about how to permanently delete your Facebook account.

{ 19 comments… read them below or add one }

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: